California drivers are required to carry auto insurance so they can cover any financial losses that can come from an accident, and they must carry proof that they have an active policy inside their vehicle at all times. California drivers are also required to present the necessary documentation in the following circumstances:
- When it’s being requested by a law enforcement officer
- When renewing their vehicle’s registration
- When they’re involved in an automobile accident
California insurance companies are required to file electronic reports on any covered vehicles that are for “private use,” and law enforcement officers and court officials have access to this information.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements
If you live in the state of California and drive a vehicle, you must have the following minimum amounts of liability insurance:
- $15,000 that covers the injury or death of one person
- $30,000 that covers the injury or death of more than one person
- $5,000 in property damage coverage
Liability insurance is meant to compensate for any related financial losses for which you are responsible, and it will cover either bodily injury or property damage. However, comprehensive or collision coverage will not meet the state requirements for liability coverage.
Finding the Best Auto Policy in San Francisco, CA
If you live in San Francisco, CA and want to find a reliable automobile policy that will meet state requirements, Biddle-Shaw Insurance Services, Inc. has a team of agents who will gladly help you. We have been serving the people of San Francisco, CA for a long time, and we can help you find a policy that will meet your needs and fit your budget.
Be sure to contact the office of Biddle-Shaw Insurance Services, Inc. to find out how we can help you get the coverage you need!